SPJ Panel on Anonymous Sources

I was quite honored to be asked to speak about my book as part of a panel on anonymous sources hosted by the St. Louis chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. That’s me next to two journalists: Gary Dotson, city editor of the Belleville News-Democrat (left) and Adam Goodman, a St. Louis Post-Dispatch editor (middle). Speaking to a room full of journalists made me conscious of how to frame my research to the community that I write about. As an academic, I of course write for other academics, which of course is limiting. It is also all-consuming, making an opportunity such as this one refreshing and, I am happy to say, reassuring that what I study and how I study it has salience and can resonate even without having to resort to my normal parlance. And at the very least, even had had a nice lunch.

About mcarls10

Assistant Professor of Communication Saint Louis University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

